Sweet Coconut Bread (& Some Bonus Coconut & Raspberry Muffins)

coconut#1

 

I’ve started making coconut bread by the truck-load of late (I heard it’s popular with rugby players, so I was hoping for a Field of Dreams kind of scenario).

I’ve toyed with a few recipes, the Paleo coconut flour bread I found on the Guilty Kitchen blog is brilliant, link here (http://guiltykitchen.com/2013/04/15/paleo-sandwich-bread/).

Mine is more cakey (and definitely not Paleo-approved!) but very easy to make. This recipe makes two loaves so after a few times making it I started making one loaf and pouring the rest of the batter into muffin cases and adding some fruit. With the bread, it is a little dry, that’s just the nature of coconut, so I usually serve with my rhubarb & vanilla jam (LINK HERE) but with muffins, the fruit adds the necessary moisture to be eaten alone.

DSCF1747

  • 2 eggs
  • 280ml milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 360g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 165g desiccated coconut
  • 80g butter
  • 75g of raspberries, chopped into quarters (is using for muffins)

Set the oven to 180˚c or 160˚c fan.

Pout the milk, eggs and vanilla essence into a bowl and whisk, just until combined and set aside.

Separately, mix your dry ingredients –flour, baking powder and cinnamon first. Add the sugar and coconut and mix. Stir the egg mixture into the dry ingredients and combine before melting the butter and adding it in.

Once the butter is incorporated, I pour half of the mix into a prepared loaf (greased with baking paper) tin and mix the raspberries into the second half of the mixture. I usually get 12 muffins out of the batter. I place the loaf tin on the top shelf of the oven (will be in for an hour) and the muffins on the lower shelf (taking them out after 25 minutes).

Here’s some photographic evidence that occasionally I’m a good daughter. A couple of coconut & raspberry muffins and a mini rhubarb & vanilla jam pot sent to my Mum for lunch.

tin

 

 

Leave a Reply

